Prayers for the city of Detroit

Yesterday I gathered with a group of fellow Christians to pray for the city.  There were about 35 of us, and we were a diverse group — Protestant and Catholic, black and white, young and old, rich and poor.  The event is called “Father, Make Us One,” and there have been several of them in the past few years.

A couple words stood out:

If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.  – 2 Chronicles 7:14

“We cannot make the renewal happen, but we can show up.” – Bob Hoey, pastor of Messiah Church

The topics of prayer were very meaningful, so I thought I’d post them here.  This blog doesn’t have many readers yet, but I hope this can be a post people can come back to.

Areas of prayer:

Children in the city

Marriages and families

The poor & unloved

Cultural & racial reconciliation

Outreach & Evangelism

It was a powerful night of prayer, which reminded me: more than anything else, Detroit needs prayer.  All you who read this, join me in praying for this profoundly needy dwelling of God.

~ by Daniel on April 21, 2009.

Leave a comment